fbpx
An Interview On
Duke University

We're sorry, to view this content you need to purchase a subscription. Click here for more information.

Background

Interview Date:June 2018

Gender Identity: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Caucasian
Sexual Orientation: Heterosexual
Graduation Year: 2019
High School Experience: Public school in Westchester, NY with about 350 students in my class
Majors: Philosophy and Public Policy
Minor: Economics
Extracurricular Activities: Writer for a website that does opinionated commentary, I do volunteer tutoring, and I am part of a social organization called a Selective Living Group (SLG). SLG’s are an alternative to Greek life, so I’m in one of those.

How do you join a selective living group (SLG)?
It’s similar to Greek life in that there’s rush, and that’s how we pick members and how you join. It’s co-ed and it’s not national, so that’s what differentiates it from Greek life.

Have any of your extracurricular activities had a particularly big impact on your experience?
Yeah, I would say probably all of them have. My selective living group the most just because that’s who I interact with the most and who I go to parties with and stuff like that. Tutoring connected me more to the Durham community. And then writing has had an impact on the people I’ve met.

Notice: Duke University is a trademark. Induck uses it for descriptive purposes, not to imply affiliation with, endorsement from, or sponsorship by Duke University.

Sign-up for email updates about our program

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact | Copyright 2019 | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use