fbpx
An Interview On
Lafayette College

We're sorry, to view this content you need to purchase a subscription. Click here for more information.

Background

Interview Date:October 2018

Gender Identity: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Black
Sexual Orientation: Bisexual
Graduation Year: 2021
High School Experience: I grew up in Georgia, but I went to a boarding school in Connecticut with a graduating class of about 200 students. There was a culture of going to college.
First Generation College Student: Yes
Major: Civil and Environmental Engineering
Minor: Chinese Language
Extracurricular Activities: National Society of Black Engineers, Club Rugby, and I go to events through cultural clubs that pertain to my identifiers, like Association of Black Collegians and Queer People of Color (QPOC)

Did any of your extracurricular activities have a particularly big impact on your experience?
Queer People of Color has been a really big thing for me just in the sense of having a community just for people of color who have various sexual orientations because I think that is something that is hard to integrate within a predominately White institution. Also, the National Society of Black Engineers, because there are so few people of color in STEM majors, especially engineering, it’s hard to find your place and know what you want to do. If you’re struggling, it’s easy to quit because there’s not really anyone that looks like you, which is something that’s difficult to deal with, so those clubs help you find a family and a support system within a place of loneliness.

Notice: Lafayette College is a trademark. Induck uses it for descriptive purposes, not to imply affiliation with, endorsement from, or sponsorship by Lafayette College.

Sign-up for email updates about our program

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact | Copyright 2019 | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use