fbpx
An Interview On
University of Michigan

We're sorry, to view this content you need to purchase a subscription. Click here for more information.

Background

Interview Date:November 2018

Gender Identity: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Half Peruvian and Half Japanese
Sexual Orientation: Heterosexual
Graduation Year: 2021
High School Experience: Public school in New York City, NY with a graduating class of about 250 students. Mostly everyone went to college.
First Generation College Student: In the U.S., yes. My parents went to college in South America.
Major: I haven’t declared yet, but I’m considering Computer Science and the Pre-Med track
Minor: I haven’t declared yet, but I’m considering Biochemistry
Extracurricular Activities: I’m really involved in La Casa, which is the Latinx community on campus. I volunteer for Assisting Latinas to Maximize Achievement (ALMA), which is an orientation program for incoming Latina students. I’m part of the Engineering Student Government, specifically part of the Diversity and Equity Committee. I also did research at the medical hospital.

Did any of your extracurricular activities have a particularly big impact on your experience?
Doing research at the hospital allowed me to understand my interest in medicine because I’m thinking of doing pre-med and going to medical school. That also geared me to see what parts of medicine I’m interested in.

How easy was it to get involved in research at the hospital?
It was pretty easy because it was through UROP, the Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program.

Notice: University of Michigan is a trademark. Induck uses it for descriptive purposes, not to imply affiliation with, endorsement from, or sponsorship by University of Michigan.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact | Copyright 2019 | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use