An Interview On
Pomona College

We're sorry, to view this content you need to purchase a subscription. Click here for more information.

Background

Interview Date:April 2019

Gender Identity: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Asian, I’m Half-Chinese and Half-Indian
Sexual Orientation: Straight
Graduation Year: 2021
High School Experience: Public high school in Berkeley, CA with a graduating class of about 1,000 students. The culture of going to college depended on who you were friends with. With my friend groups, everybody was going to college. But, there was a strong demographic of first-generation immigrants who were going to community college or didn’t know if they would apply to four-year institutions.
First-Generation College Student: Yes
Major: Economics
Minor: Math
Extracurricular Activities: I am a sponsor, which is kind of like a resident advisor, but I can’t get people in trouble. I just help the first-years integrate and I live with them.

What impact has being a sponsor had on your experience?
It’s pretty fun. I get to know the first-year class really well whereas if I lived with my friends in a suite I wouldn’t know them nearly as well. Most of my friends and I met through our sponsor group, so now most of us are sponsors because we wanted to see other friendships build and establish that for other people.

Notice: Pomona College is a trademark. Induck uses it for descriptive purposes, not to imply affiliation with, endorsement from, or sponsorship by Pomona College.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact | Copyright 2019 | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use